Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday – Favorite LGBTQ+ Reads

Talk about your favorite books that feature LGBTQ+ characters or are by LGBTQ+ authors.

*cracks knuckles* LET’S GET STARTED, SHALL WE?!

In no particular order.

sixofcrowsSix of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

*dances a dance of wonder at Jesper and Wylan, and the fact Nina is reportedly Bi, and just gorgeous*

I credit this book with getting me interested in storytelling again and a LOT of that was because of how diverse the characters were. I absolutely adored Wylan, easily my 2nd fave beneath Kaz, and I’m looking forward to re-read this later on this year.

Similarly to the Raven Cycle I enjoyed how it wasn’t shouted out “I am gay, and this is my process of coming out!” everyone either knew already, or was eased into knowing, and it wasn’t a big deal. So props!

 

28356624Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

A recent read for me, I truly enjoyed the romantic relationship between the two leads but I felt it was diluted too much with other POV’s I didn’t give two hoots about. I would have loved more of the dynamic between the two of them, and there was a slight issue with Simon only thinking “gay or straight?” when he realised he was in love with Baz after going out with a girl for 6 years, but hey, this was still a cute, cozy little love story.

I think I just need to read more LGBTQA books this year.

 

 

51bk7kthell-_sy344_bo1204203200_

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

Ok so unlike Carry On above, Adam Parrish – who I went on a ride with, let me tell you, from hating him to loving him – doesn’t even question the labels he might be dumped into. He fancies and desires Blue, that’s for sure. But then he realises, with a thrill, that Ronan quite fancies him. And that he fancies Ronan. And it’s so subtle you have to really LOOK at it, but God. THE ATTRACTION, YOU CAN TASTE IT.

And Ronan, dear Ronan, is unapologetic in who he is as a person in the first place and that extends to his sexuality. He doesn’t deny it, his friends don’t mention it overtly. They already know. It’s implied, but never really brought up as Something We Must Talk About until the final book where Adam confesses to Gansey that they’ve kissed each other (thus potentially changing the dynamic of the group) when it makes sense for them to talk about it.

I LOVE THESE BOOKS. I can’t wait to read more about Pynch ❤

Image result for cloud atlas book coverCloud Atlas by David Mitchell

Robert Frobisher is a character I seldom talk about, and as a result, do not talk about HALF as much as I should do. When I read Cloud Atlas, I was a bit distracted by all the literary writing flourishes and shit and the formats, but oh – Robert Frobisher stole my heart. I cried. I laughed. I got jealous. It was just… he’s amazing. The book itself is ok, I had to skip the entire central chapter because I didn’t understand it at all, but Robert as an LGBTQA+ character (while he loves a man deeply but enjoys sex with women I don’t want to call him strictly bi, I think he might be pan) is absolutely amazing, full of life, and while he’s a bit tortured towards the end with emotions I just. Augh. He stayed with me for a long time. So this.

 

gathering-of-shadows_ukcover-400x586Shades of Magic Series by V.E Schwab –

VE Schwab also identifies as bisexual, so I give this an uber thumbs up, but Rhy and Alucard and even Lila, who is reported as being canonically gender-fluid, are LGBTQA+. Rhy and Alucard are a big ship, and I shipped them too (before I found Alucard to be an annoying whingy little antagonistic self-righteous brat) but the fact they’re also unapologetic about who they are and who they love, is something very empowering.

Also, MAGIC!

 

Honorable mention – Queens of Geek & The Upside of Unrequited

PLEASE give me your recommendations! I know there’s so many I haven’t yet had the chance to buy or get from the library. I would love to know what LGBTQA_ reads I’m missing out on!

16 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Favorite LGBTQ+ Reads

  1. I love your list! I had to put The Raven Cycle on mine too for Ronan and Adam, and if I’d had more room I would have included Six of Crows and the Shades of Magic series as well. I’ve never read any Rainbow Rowell but her books are definitely on my tbr.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I SO missed all the clues that were dropped about Ronan’s sexuality when I read the books the first time around! The Pynch fandom is what actually made me realize that there ARE clues there! I feel like I need to read this series again and look more actively for the clues!

    I am a huge fan of worlds were LGBT+ characters aren’t walking around holding up signs saying *LOOK AT ME, I AM PART OF THE LGBT+ COMMUNITY*, I feel like both Leigh and Victoria did a great job with that! And Rhy was my favorite from the minute I was introduced to him! I love him so much! And Alucard too. They were pretty damn awesome. Lila wins though – whatever the competition might be, she wins!

    I haven’t read too many LGBT+ books yet either, so I’ve been looking at tons of lists today looking for new books to add but it seems like most people had similar or the same books as me on their lists.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, right?! I only found out about Pynch when I unfortunately, in the first book, googled what the boys looked like because I couldn’t remember and spoiled myself, but that made me aware of looking for the clues and my DAYS they were everywhere.

      Rhy is adorable little snowflake who is precious. Lila is amazing, though, I agree, I love her and her knives!

      Yeah I’ve seen a lot of Aristolte and Dante, Song of Achilles I think? And Adam Silvera, too. But there are tons more LGBTQ books coming out this year, Upside of Unrequited and Queens of Geek, so maybe look at TBR lists? I’m looking forward to The Love Interest, cause gay spies!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

