Uncategorized

REVIEW – Stargazing for Beginners by Jenny McLachlan

 

9781408879757

Science geek Meg is left to look after her little sister for ten days after her free-spirited mum leaves suddenly to follow up yet another of her Big Important Causes. But while Meg may understand how the universe was formed, baby Elsa is a complete mystery to her.

And Mum’s disappearance has come at the worst time: Meg is desperate to win a competition to get the chance to visit NASA headquarters, but to do this she has to beat close rival Ed. Can Meg pull off this double life of caring for Elsa and following her own dreams? She’ll need a miracle of cosmic proportions …

Goodreads:
Amazon UK / Amazon US

**** – 4 STARS

It took me a while to get into this book because the main character, Meg, and her family life were very unsettled so it unsettled me. If that makes sense. I think it took me until about 50% of the way through before I got into the groove of it and still her mother’s behaviour (WHAT sort of mother buggers off to Myanmar at a moment’s notice?! I MEAN SERIOUSLY?! Leaving a baby and a kid alone with a scatty grandpa I MEAN!) but once it settled past the threat of some of the typical YA tropes I enjoyed it.

Meg was fully formed and her struggles with baby sister Elsa were relatable (I, too, have no idea how babies function). She was a total nerd, and wasn’t whiny about it. Just very wary of how others perceived her. She didn’t try to change herself to benefit other people and she was remarkably grown up for her age, almost like having to be the adult between her mother and baby sister (and the grandpa).

Ed, the popular nerd who’s Meg’s cursh, was also nice, and Annie was a cool side character. The writing flowed well, I sped through the book – another under 2 hours – though at some points I admit I skipped things like chores and stuff because as much as I know they suck, Meg, I don’t wanna read about those.

I put this as 4* as I did enjoy it but I wouldn’t probably read it again. I would recommend it, a girl with high ambitions is VERY cool especially related to STEM and it was a good little book, but I don’t think I loved it enough to have much more of an opinion on it.

Leave a Reply

