Book Things · Top 5 Wednesday

#T5W – Favorite Angsty Romances

Top Five Wednesday is a fabulous group on Goodreads where, every Wednesday, we get to run down our top 5s of various subjects. This week –

This topic has been much requested! Talk about your favorite ships that have a healthy side of angst. (definition: adj.: describes a situation or literary piece which contains dark, depressing, angry, and/or brooding emotions from the participating characters.)

5. ELLE / DARIEN FREEMAN

Image result for elle darien freeman

A recent read for me, and instantly a fave! Hate to love is a really strong trope for me, and I enjoyed this book because it had exactly that, PLUS text messages, PLUS it’s a great Cinderella retelling. The angst of it, I believe, was exaggerated because we know the Cinderella story itself. We recognise it. But retellings always sway it, so we didn’t know for sure whether it would happen that way.

Anyway, Elle is a great, die hard fan who thinks Darien is not worthy of playing her favourite hero. Angst ensues.

BUT – Darien is such a gorgeous baby ❤ I loved him.

4. BLUE SARGENT / GANSEY III

Related image

The Raven Cycle is just one big love letter to every single character and I adore these two. Blue is amazing, Gansey is amazing. Together, I wasn’t 100% convinced, but it was still compelling. If she kisses him, he’s gonna die?! Prophecy keeping them apart?! Jeeeez. That alone needs to give them kudos. Blue hates that she’s fallen for a Raven boy, Gansey puts his foot in it all the time. They weren’t perfect, but they were perfect for each other, and that made me smile.

3. KAZ BREKKER / INEJ GHAFA

inejkaz-7668 (1).jpg

Kaz – the man who can’t touch bare skin without a panic attack.

Inej – the woman who was forced to be abused for a living.

Their pain with intimacy and Kaz’s forbidden touch nature is just bittersweet, because he loves her to absolute death and would do anything to protect her. She would also do anything to protect him and follows him, in order to make sure he’s ok. While they both want true intimacy, they have to work very hard and get over some major shit to make it possible. Augh. Need more of these two ❤

2. ENNIS DEL MAR / JACK TWIST

Related image

I cried at the book. I cried at the movie. I watched the movie again and continued to cry. The music made me cry whenever I heard the first five notes. I think the film in particular left a lasting impression on me for years. I was pretty much traumatized with Jack’s ending, and the way Heath Ledger played Ennis with such honesty. He deserved an Oscar for that. This was probably the first romance I’d ever felt crushed by. But God, did I enjoy it. I still get goosebumps and emotional.

1. RONAN LYNCH / ADAM PARISH

Related image

GOD.

That is all.

No, wait it’s not. Ronan Lynch is an absolutely gorgeous character, conflicted and heartfelt and broken. Adam went from self-pitying dick, broken himself, to feeling stronger and more accepting of himself. The two of them are amazing together and the way Maggie Stiefvater wrote them falling in love is just perfect. I can’t get over them. I won’t get over them.

BRING ON THE RONAN TRILOGY.

9 thoughts on “#T5W – Favorite Angsty Romances

  1. I love your choice of angsty romances! To be honest, I haven’t read/seen any of these but I keep hearing great things about them! I’m very excited to read The Raven Cycle and Six of Crows because I KNOW the romances are just GREAT! And I’ve been so excited for Geekerella it’s the book I planned to read next 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oeh I hadn’t even thought about Brokeback mountain but yes, that’s all the angst I ever needed in a tiny, tiny book 😀 I loved that story so much more than I thought I would.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

