Book Things · books · NetGalley · Reviews

GEEKERELLA by Ashley Poston

geekerella_72dpi

I was graciiously given an eARC in exchange for an honest review by Quirk Books via Netgalley

A NEW FAVOURITE HAS ARRIVED – 5*

Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise. But when she disappears at midnight, will he ever be able to find her again?

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom.

Amazon UK // Amazon US

Goodreads: HERE

From the first pages, I was hooked on this. I can’t even pinpoint why – the writing flowed well, Elle was a strong protagonist, but perhaps it was the fact we got to see the other side of the story with Darien (hello, cutie) which made this more dynamic.

DEFINITELY shipped them. Hard.

Of the two books centered around Fandom I’ve read so far this year, this one felt the most authentic. I’m REALLY big on dialogue (maybe haven’t mentioned before – ahem) and this never seemed forced to me. The dual POV was a delight, both voices coming across as strong, and all other characters surrounding them were just as strong too.

Sage, the green haired wonder on the front cover, is an absolutely wonderful character. I want her to be my friend. Gail is annoying despite being symapthetic, but then I think she’s sort of meant to be because we saw her from Darien’s POV.

I think a major plus is this was that I imagined everything so vividly. I could see everything of Starfield – the show they’re so in love with – as well, looking at the Fandom, and it wasn’t forced. In some books about Fandom they drop names as though they’re saying “Look! I know about this one! Paranatural, right?” but in this one Poston really seemed to know what being in a fandom means. Like, I’ve been to cons, and they’re the weirdest, most AMAZING places, and everyone is supportive of each other. Yeah you get the occasional dick, and we did in this one too, but I dunno. I felt like I was there.

Were some of the villains cartoony? Yeah, maybe, but I think that just added to the charm. I physically hated Elle’s stepmother. I know teenage me wouldn’t have done a damn thing, but I wanted to slap the woman. It’s very rare a book can make me cry, lately, hardened book armadillo that I am, but this one managed.

I felt Elle’s pain, and I loved Darien’s character, and I want Starfield to be a show ok?!

Leave a Reply

