Book Things · books · Reviews

A CONJURING OF LIGHT by V.E. Schwab

NON-SPOILERY (ISH) REVIEW

A CONJURING OF LIIIIGHT

Ok most of my friends know how excited I was about this book, I looooved A Gathering of Shadows, and I think it’s the best book of the trilogy. This, while big in scope, scale, tension, and everything, somehow didn’t match up to my love of the second. Nothing to say the writing was bad, or the plot, nothing! But it didn’t hit me in the gut with FEELINGS as much as I – dare I say – wanted it to.

tumblr_o3e6jntcab1uvplaio1_400

There were a lot of POV hops, and at some stages it left me a bit disconcerted. I didn’t know why we were, say, in the head of the King or Queen until later on in the book. I will not spoil the massiveness of this book with silly little bits like that.

BUT ANYWAY

THINGS I LOVED

  • KELL
  • FREAKING
  • MARESH

Be still my beating heart. He’s so protective, and sweet, and conflicted. He’s finding his place in his own world and trying to do right by everyone, as well as manage falling for a knife-loving woman who’s an explosion of wonderfulness. ❤ he can do no wrong in my eyes, even though he messes up – which everyone should, once in a while – he nevertheless continues to try and make it right.

  • HOLLAND
  • DARLING ONE

Yes, well. He’s so dry and disdainful, he’s clearly had any hope and joy beaten out of him but this whole redemption arc for him was beautiful. I was very happy that my love for him in the first book and his potential paid off here. I loved the whole ANTARI aspects of this book, like YES KICK ASS! And I’m pretty sure, if they cast him right in the movie, I will fangirl all over again. *strokes pretty Holland*

  • LILA
  • GODDAMN
  • BARD

She is number three simply because if I met her, I’d want to strangle her pretty quickly, but reading about her is fascinating. I mean, if I tried to strangle her she’d probably skin me, but you get the idea. She’s a fascinated, nuanced character who gave me the only tear-jerking moment in this – when she revisits the market just after Shit Gets Real – and I had to put the book down. I imagined that scene so vividly and it was just…. augh.

  • RHY
  • PRINCELING
  • BABE

The Rhy of book two, is not here in book three. Well he is a bit but of course, going through multiple deaths and trauma and finding out darkness is growing is not a very nice way to recover. I was sad he seemed to be more in the background even when he was front and center, the gravitas of him – like he was the sun and others the planets – didn’t pull me as usual but I still love him, of course.

MORE STUFF TO TALK ABOUT

  • THE DEATHS my god. Some of them meant things, some of them meant nothing, ALL OF THEM WERE HEARTBREAKING OKAY?!
  • OSARON. What a weird, twisty, awesome badass villain.
  • I MENTIONED HOLLAND’S STORY ARC ALREADY BUT HOLLAND’S STORY ARC
  • Why is there no extra magical London here in England, why do I have to just go to the pretty drab one with torture castles.
  • FLOATING MARKETS
  • I will stop now.

HMMMMMM….

By this, I mean things which I struggled with but didn’t take away from my enjoyment.

Something bugged me throughout the book and I think I figured out was it was – Alucard.

I know, people will hate me. But the rogue Captain I’d come to be very fond of seemed a bit of a dick during this book. How much he antagonized Kell, and acted like he was entitled to be treated fairly by Rhy, and not understanding why Kell was protective over his brother and best friend, really riled me up.

Like dude – I know you’re meant to be pained because your love for him was seen as something despicable by your family, I understand how much that must have torn you apart. But don’t take it out on the person who looks upon the evidence – you fleeing without a word – the same way as Rhy does, and punish HIM for that opinion instead. Maybe I dunno – try not to be so snarky?

And Rhy, too, taking Alucard’s side sometimes pissed me off. I dunno maybe I’m just a total Kell woman here (we share stubbornness and anger / protectiveness over our loved ones) but I don’t think Alucard DESERVED Rhy. He hadn’t done much, in my view, to win the absolute heart of the prince but maybe it was because we were told they loved each other a lot because of ‘the past’ and didn’t really get to see ‘that past’ apart from snippets. All we got was their broken present.

Anyway. He pissed me off regardless.

Maybe he won’t on a second read-through, which I’m hoping to do sometime later this year of the entire trilogy. But. Ugh. Goddamn, Dracula-backwards.

THAT SAID, BUY THIS BOOK. READ IT. LOVE IT. ENJOY IT. AND TALK TO ME ABOUT KELL AND HOLLAND AND LILA AND ANTARI PLEASE.

ANOSHE

 

3 thoughts on “A CONJURING OF LIGHT by V.E. Schwab

Leave a Reply

