Book Things · books · jadewritesbooks · Just For Fun · Top 5 Wednesday

TOP 5 WEDNESDAY – Books To Get You Out Of A Reading Slump

I joined top 5 Wednesday!

If you’re not sure what it is, it’s a group on Goodreads where avid readers can participate in a top 5 list every Wednesday. Simples.

I’ve seen the lovely Thoughts on Tomes on YouTube do this, so I thought I’d give it a go.

I’m not prepared for BookTube yet. So it’s a blog you’re getting.

Even with some of my favourite books, I didn’t originally find them that easy to get into. Of course once I did get into them, I tore through the pages at speed, but it’s that initial “easy read” simplicity of enjoyment I’m going for in this list.

These are books which have stayed with me simply because they took me out from “pffft. reading.” to “YAY READING!” in a few chapters. Believe it or not I spent a few years refusing to read anything. I don’t know what I was doing, but hey.

These are also books with *actual plot* because I do not read fluffy nonsense that’s about two people hooking up and nothing more. I can’t. If it doesn’t have substance, a plot, characterization etc, I can’t. So there are no select New Adult romances here, for example.

Without further ado, the 5 books ARE-

cover106249-mediumOne of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus
This is a story about 5 kids who have detention together – the swoony baseball star, the wilting flower, the absolute rebel, the intelligent girl, and the slimy dude who has an app posting school secrets every day. In the middle of their punishment, slimy dude dies before everyone’s eyes, meaning the other 4 are suddenly being investigated for his murder and ALL of them have secrets they didn’t want McSlimy to tell.

I had the privilege of reading this via NetGalley, so it’s not out yet, but it’s a seriously encompassing read. It’s fast paced, there’s no convoluted plot where you have to draw diagrams to figure out what the hell is happening, and it keeps you guessing in a good way, not in a “Jesus Christ just tell us!” way. A very easy, but no less accomplished, read. I’ll buy a copy of this once it’s out.

91rfbnk2dl-_sl1500_

Angelfall by Susan Ee
Another fast read I started this year with. It’s been out for a while now, I got it for Christmas, and it’s super good. I heard it’s some people’s guilty pleasures – no guilt here. Just pleasure.

Hot angel who doesn’t annoy me (looking at you, Akiva) – check. Rounded female MC who is badass and a realist – check. No instalove?! Awesome. The two supposed-to-be-enemies team up to try and get Penryn’s disabled sister back from evil angels, and the world has gone to shit, and it’s… yeah I’m not able to really explain how awesome the plot is, but hey. Trust me.

I’ve heard as well that the ending grossed some people out – as a person who sped through Exquisite Corpse (clue in the title) by horror / creepy story  author Poppy Brite I have no qualms with gore or grossness or anything like that. Again, easy read writing, but still good, and it wasn’t too cheesy that you’re like “oh come ON that’d never happen”. Cause it’s about evil angels, I mean…. suspend your disbelief.

 

Image result for harry potter series

Harry Potter – Any of them – by JK Rowling
These are undoubtedly the EASIEST reads because I’ve read them about 3 times (apart from the last 2) to get myself back into the reading game. Philosopher’s Stone took me about a week the first time I read it (I was 10 or something, come on) and now it takes me less than an hour. Is it perfect? No. Is it good writing? Yes. World Building? Let me put it this way….

I WANT TO GO TO HOGWARTS WHERE IS MY LETTER?!

And I won’t have any of that “I’m too old for HP!” nonsense. I’m the grand age of twenty-n(mumble) and still love HP. I see the problematic stuff, but it doesn’t take my enjoyment of the beginning of the series where it was all innocent, and so was I. It just seems to get your love of fantasy going again, builds up my reading eyes.

Image result for six of crows

Six of Crows by QUEEN Leigh Bardugo
QUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEN.

Ok, so if you haven’t heard of this book, where have you been?

Six totally different ragamuffins join together in a bid to steal a professor from the inside of a huge, mightily complex jail, who’s made drug which threatens the Grisha. It’s basically a heist where they have to steal a person from an iron prison, but ALSO get along. Of which, neither seems to be feasible at some points.

I was definitely disillusioned with fantasy, and everything like that, when I took up this book to read. I just wasn’t into anything. Reading, which had once blessed me with escapism, didn’t hold me any more. Enter Six of Crows, and BOOM – I loved Kaz. My devil baby

I could ramble on about this for days, but it’s a mastery of epic writing, plotting, characterisation, REAL DIALOGUE HURRAH and world building that sucked me in and refused to let me out again. READ IT.

Image result for fangirl

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
I seem to practically speed-read through anything Rainbow Rowell has written, which is good cause I’m getting Carry On soon. Like, I go to bed early to read and before I know it it’s 3am and I’m 50 pages from finishing so what the hell? Let’s do it.

Fangirl is the story of twins, Cather and Wren, who go to College. It’s the first time Cather has lived apart from Wren, who requested another roommate. Cather is internet famous with her fanfiction of Simon Snow stories, and so follows a rolling read of writing, understanding siblings, absent parents, first loves and AAAALL the wonderousness which appears to be the American College system.

This is such a good read, it’s fun, it’s heartbreaking, it’s good because Cather finds her voice. It’s not an overly-hormonal-angsty read when she gets her anxiety, it’s very natural (in my experience of my own anxiety) and I enjoyed reading it.

11 thoughts on “TOP 5 WEDNESDAY – Books To Get You Out Of A Reading Slump

  1. Great list! I have HP on my list as well; it’s my go-to comfort read. I loved Angelfall, but was a little disappointed with how the series ended. I still recommend the series to people all the time, but I was just hoping for a little bit more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

