Book Things · books · Reviews

THE RAVEN BOYS, otherwise known as OH MY GOD by Maggie Stiefvater

Let’s cut to the chase, FIVE STARS. ALL THE STARS. YOU’RE UP THERE WITH SIX OF CROWS, YOU AWESOME THING! What is it with me and birds? Anyway, THE REVIEW:

the-raven-boys

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

From Maggie Stiefvater, the bestselling and acclaimed author of the Shiver trilogy and The Scorpio Races, comes a spellbinding new series where the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead us to a place we’ve never been before.

So, this was a series I heard aaaaall about for years now. From the time during my reading slump to the last year or two where I finally picked up books again, I kept hearing mention of the mythical Maggie Stiefvater, who was a fellow Scorpio. I hadn’t even read the books when I realised she had a tarot deck coming out (I am aaaaaaaaall about the tarot).

I started this in August I think, 2016. I liked it, I read Blue’s chapters a hell of a lot faster than I did Adam’s and Gansey’s, which is why I think I put it to one side about 50 – 70 pages in in preference to read other things I knew I’d read quickly. Like Gathering of Shadows, other things.

When I finally picked this up again – and slightly spoiled some twists because I googled what the boys looked like and ended up seeing some information I didn’t want to – I started to really understand Maggie’s writing style. I didn’t just admire it, she absorbed me. Like a psychic who you’re not sure about at first, but then throws up some crafty little numbers and you have no choice but to submit to her awesome power.

That.

Did a LOT happen in this? Sort of. It was like the perfect first season of a TV show, where you get to know the characters and love them and really fear for them. It’s quiet enough to show how the characters work, and loud enough to keep things interesting and tense.

The psychic women were a special highlight of mine. Having grown up in a house full of women as different as the next, I really identified with Blue. I enjoyed their relationship so much, and while my household wasn’t filled with psychics it was filled with the equivalent hippy and spiritual, occult-ish friends with visits from Romani women and witches. So to see that in book form was almost like reading my childhood in some stages.

I will credit (blame?) this book with giving me insomnia after I finished it. I must have been absolutely bummed out and excited and encompassed by book-hangover that I couldn’t even think. I wanted more of Ronan, and Gansey, and Blue, and NOAH my precious Noah ❤

Adam’s a little on the fence for me right now. At first I really identified with him, but then he pulled those dick moves, and I know he was angry but BAH. Come on, redeem yourself.

My favourite was Ronan though, by far. I don’t know why, because I hate angry, aggressive people in real life, but the heart practically shone out of my sarcastic no bullshit baby and he just – my boy. MY BOY. I can’t wait to read more about him.

Basically, all I can say is I’m in love with BAMF women writers right now who are KILLING IT with their amazing stories and I can’t wait to find out what happens in this series.

Leave a Reply

