Book Things · NetGalley · Reviews

Review: THE WITCH’S KISS *sampler* by Katharine & Elizabeth Corr

29984535.jpg

Sixteeen-year-old Meredith is fed-up with her feuding family and feeling invisible at school – not to mention the witch magic that shoots out of her fingernails when she’s stressed. Then sweet, sensitive Jack comes into her life and she falls for him hard.

The only problem is that he is periodically possessed by a destructive centuries-old curse. Meredith has lost her heart, but will she also lose her life? Or in true fairytale tradition, can true love’s kiss save the day?

Where to Buy: Amazon UK  // Amazon US
Goodreads: The Witch’s Kiss

REVIEW: 3*

I was given the first 5 chapters of this book in exchange for an honest review by Netgalley and Harper Collins Children’s Books

While this was a sampler, and is no way able to be a total reflection of the book itself, I found it hard to connect with the characters and it all felt surface-level to me.

You know in TV shows, where a character directly addresses the other person in a very overly-plot-explaining way? Like –

“But Donna! You can’t go into the woods! The axe murderer we just saw the news report about and who has a weird connection to our Father’s pansy dying eight years ago might be out there!”

A lot of the dialogue read like that. And while some of the characterization was really cool, it skipped forwards. The best thing I can do to describe how this sampler felt was like skimming stones – it bounced off the surface a couple of times, hitting enough points to propel it forwards but not enough for me to actually care.

In fact, I found myself skipping forwards too. There’s nothing overtly terrible about the writing, it’s quite competent and I did enjoy Leo when he was there. But apart from flashes of interesting and nuanced text, I couldn’t really get a sense of what this story was meant to mean.

Some important scenes flashed by when I wanted more, when I wanted a reason to care. And I felt a bit let down by it.

Will I pick up the whole book? Possibly, from my library. It’s definitely an easy read, but I can’t see it staying in my memory for too long.

Leave a Reply

