Book Things · Reviews

‘Angelfall’ by Susan Ee – Review!

Angelfall has 5*! – Will contain spoilers

Things I loved about this book:

First of all – THE COVER IS EMBOSSED. Whenever I picked up the book I just kept running my hands over the angel wings going “preeeedy”. Seriously, it was a problem.

Second of all – Penryn. A very capable, fiesty-without-being-shouty, well-written heroine who I immediately warmed to. She reacted how I would have done in most of the situations, apart from maybe a bit at the end which I won’t spoil entirely, but…

Thirdly – Raffe. I admit I stumbled over the pronunciation of his name at some points but he was a good character. Unlike other angel love interests I’ve read before (cough*Akiva*cough) I warmed to him a lot. He balanced arrogance with vulnerability exceedingly well.

1st Person present isn’t my jam – usually at all – but in this day and age, if you want to read some great plots, you have to knuckle down and just get on with it. There has only ever been one other 1st person present book I soared through, and that was Cracked by Eliza Crewe (I can’t find the sequel anywhere!). The second 1st person present book I soared through was this one – and I think I liked it better.

Some people may have had a problem with how gory some parts of this story were. I admit – it was gorier than I anticipated. But I liked the fact it took me by surprise because it was accurate with a dystopian, where angels have come down and essentially torn the Earth to pieces.

The only thing I had a problem with in this was the use of terminology a few of the times with regards to the mother. While it didn’t take away from my enjoyment of the story overall, I wondered if that part was handled with as much sensitivity as it could have been? I get that Penryn was deeply affected by her mother’s condition, and this was a story told from the viewpoint of a girl well-used to living with her mother’s situation. But maybe it would be different now, as a lot more awareness is being brought about such conditions as we speak.

ANYWAY – that said, I will be buying the rest of the series (thank you Ma for buying this for me for Christmas!) and adding it to my ever-growing TBR pile.

Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

