Book Things · jadewritesbooks · Just For Fun · positive posts · Reviews · writing

7th annual End of Year Book Survey!

Stumbled across this delightful survey which has been going for 7 years now by Jamie at perpetualpageturner. Check her out!

I thought it’d be a good push for me to resume blogging more regularly by looking back at my year in books and lamenting that I didn’t read more.

Note: The survey is for books you read throughout the year, no matter when they were published, and is not limited to just books that came out in 2016!!

2016 READING STATS

Number Of Books You Read: 22 (must try harder)
Number of Re-Reads: 0
Genre You Read The Most From: Fantasy

BEST IN BOOKS

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?
This is incredibly difficult. But I’m going to say Six of Crows. The moment I read this, I wanted to devour more books, and after struggling for years I felt the excitement of fantasy re-ingite within me. I saw a true representation of what YA could do and wanted to emulate that in my own way.

I had the privilege of telling this to Leigh Bardugo at a book signing, she wanted to know how my writing was going and gosh. I don’t wanna let her down.

IMG_8815.JPG

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
Ember in the Ashes. There was so much hype about this book! I didn’t finish it, and ended up giving it to a friend for Christmas, I thought she might appreciate it. I didn’t connect with the characters, the trials didn’t make sense, and unfortunately it just fell flat for me.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?
This Savage Song. I wasn’t sure really what to expect, and the beginning didn’t grab me, but by the end I was in love with August and the monsters scared the shit out of me. I swept through it.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?
Six of Crows. I think I bought it for about 3 friends, and shouted from the rooftops about it otherwise. I think when I got a text saying “Six of Crows! Holy shit!” I knew I’d converted my friends ^_^

5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?
Best Series – Six of Crows duology
Best Sequel – Gathering of Shadows
Best Ender – Ruin and Rising

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?
This is an INCREDIBLY difficult one because I discovered about 4 absolutely beautiful female authors whose style and stories I adore, so in order of the date I read them –

Becky Chambers
Victoria Schwab
Leigh Bardugo
Rainbow Rowell

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?
Difficult. But I’m going to say Gathering of Shadows or This Savage Song, because I made an excuse I was tired to go to bed in the afternoon and read them.

9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?
Six of Crows. I’m going to study that beast.
Also Darker Shade of Magic, potentially, because I didn’t appreciate it first time round

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

images   22299763
11. Most memorable character of 2016?
Kaz Brekker ❤

cnwain7vmaakx5m

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?
Angry planet again, that book stole my heart very early on this year.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?
This is really difficult for me, because I don’t like repeating myself but truly, Leigh Bardugo and Six of Crows re-ingited a love of the genre and also writing in general. It was reminiscent of Joss Whedon’s Buffy in how strong each individual character was, and I hadn’t seen that done in a book before.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read?
Darker Shade of Magic, like where was I?!

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

six-of-crows-samsung-galaxy
16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?
Crooked Kingdom was the longest
Story-wise rather than reference, it was Futureshock

17. Book That Shocked You The Most
Fangirl – it really caught what it was to be a fangirl in the beginning, when the internet was still relatively new (showing my age) and after that, where fanfiction REALLY took off.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)
Holy hell this is difficult. I’m going to choose Jesper and Wylan, though. As much as I love the others in my OTP head, Wylan is one of my favourite characters and Jesper is a precious sharpshooter. The both of them together is perfection.
tumblr_oexrj9xhms1r80kcoo1_500
19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year
Rhy and Kell from the Shades of Magic series.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously
Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman. I love him.

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:
Thankfully, none.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?
Nikolai Lanstov / Kaz Brekker / Kell / Rhy
Just because. You know. Victoria and Leigh are really good at writing guys I’d fancy in real life.

23. Best 2016 debut you read?
The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet – not sure this was published in 2016, however I read it then and boy. I loved every word.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?
I’d say Grisha Trilogy and Shades of Magic Series joint for me.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?
Six of Crows.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?
I cry more at books than I do at TV and film. Though recently visual media is catching up. Maybe it’s my age. Though for full-on bawling…

15745753.jpg

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?
Not so sure whether this is hidden, but All Our Yesterdays was a pretty darn good read I’m surprised it’s not circulated as more popular.

17451105.jpg

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?
In the BEST way – Crooked Kingdom.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?
The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?
Ok I’m going to do an honourable mention to those I haven’t cited so far.

Broken Sky – the twist at the end didn’t make sense, it wasn’t foreshadowed, and the relationship was very flat to me. Still, the writing was good enough for me to finish it.
Future Shock – statements within the characters. For instance, after mentioning Zoe has had both boyfriends and girlfriends previously within the book, she says “I’m bisexual in case you didn’t know”…. sorry, what? There was nothing about the conversation which warranted that statement. Also, most of them died when we were told they’d die, so it lost impact.
Rebel of the Sands – I was so bored. I’m sorry, I know people love this book, but I didn’t like anyone enough to keep with them for 200 pages.
Days of Blood and Starlight – I hated Akiva in the first book, and joy of joys we got to spend more time in his head in this one. I ended up leaving it halfway through. I didn’t like how timid the main character had become, didn’t gel well for me at all.

BLOGGING / BOOKISH LIFE

Sadly, I am not a book blogger – yet. 2017 will change that. But I can answer question 10!

10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?
Yes. I set 20 books on Goodreads for my reading goal of the year and I succeeded by reading 22! It might not seem big to many people, but truly I’ve struggled to get into a reading ‘flow’ for many years. After my operation in April I’ve found it a requirement to settle down with a good book rather than my mobile phone before I go to sleep.

LOOKING AHEAD

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?
The Raven Boys. I started it in 2016 but couldn’t really get into it as much as I wanted to. I’ll try again.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

32075662   NorseMythology_Hardback_1473940163.jpg   28145767

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?
31145148   27883214

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?
29939230

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?
Build up as a blogger in the first place.

6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:
Sadly – none. I have no idea how to acquire ARCs. But I’m looking forward to reading all the books!

Leave a Reply

